1. Doctor Honoris Causa (Honorary Doctorate), Ternopil National Economic University (Ukraine), August, 2010.
  2. Outstanding Achievement Award for Leadership and Outstanding Contributions in Cybersecurity Education, July 2010, World Congress in Computer Science, Computer Engineering and Applied Computing.
  3. University of Maine Foundation’s Harris Award, (October 6, 2005) presented to the Faculty Five. We were the first recipients of this award. Click here for more details.
  4. Mass High Tech’s Top Ten Techies in Maine, (2002). Click here for more details.
  5. Maine Science and Technology Foundation Award, (February 2000) for being one of the Faculty Five and helping to stimulate state support for R&D and for the University. The award was presented by Governor King at the Blaine House.
  6. IBM Outstanding Innovation Award, (1980) for the reconstruction of three-dimensional objects from two-dimensional images (with Wesley).
  7. IBM Research Division Award, (1979) for the analysis of universal hashing (with Carter and Wegman).